Bitsboard- Education, Games and Flashcards and more for Learning Reading, Spelling and more

It can not be possible that Bitsboard- Education, Games and Flashcards and more for Learning, Reading, Spelling and more can be FREE by Grasshopper Apps.  If you have a child with Autism, on the spectrum or a developmental disability this is more than a must have- it is a must download NOW!  So you must be wondering why!  As always first go to your settings. There is an option to log in with Facebook.  It is to back up your “boards” and get access to thousands of other boards people have created. If you do use it, it will track the students’s progress and create lesson plans for the individual student- that is pretty nice when talking about differentiating instruction. It is not a must do but an option.   Next choose what you would like to do Flashcards, photo touch, true false, match up and more.  Then choose the amount of items you would like to work with like match up has a minimum or 3 and a maximum of 6 matches.

bitboard

The interface is clean and easy to use.  You choose the topic and subject/game you want to use with your student or add your own board if you need something that is not there.  If you need to download a board that is in the catalog you need to be in a place where you have wi-fi.  All of the boards in the catalogue are cloud based.  You put in your search and if there is a board for your topic you are ready to go.  I decided to try to find a board on the human body. I immediately found a board that was perfect for my class. Next, I set my minimum images for 5 and my maximum for 10.  Then I chose to play photo touch.  In a matter of seconds a non-computerized voice  came on with 6 pictures asking for an arm.  I touched the arm and got a simple green check.  When I was wrong I got a red x and the picture disappeared allowing me more opportunities to get the correct answer .

Out of curiosity I went to the true or false.  I was presented with a picture of an arm and the voice asked for foot.  I had to touch the red x because it was false.  True and false is always difficult to teach but with Bitsboard it gives you a creative way to teach this abstract concept.

The beauty of the board is it allows you to pick a topic that is part of your curriculum.  Within the board you have 8 different ways to help the child learn the information through both guided practice and differentiation.

As for making your own board you simply press new board give it a title and begin to add photos.  I think I know what I am doing this summer- making a lot of Bitsboards.

Using this app you can meet many of the Common Core Standards in elementary school and IEP goals based upon the child and their particular goals. As I said this is a MUST HAVE app.  You will not regret the download.